Winners of 2016 Kavli Prizes Announced
KICP News: June 2, 2016
The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics is shared between Ronald W.P. Drever and Kip S. Thorne, both from the California Institute of Technology, USA, and Rainer Weiss of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA. They receive the prize "for the direct detection of gravitational waves."

The 2016 Kavli Prizes will be awarded in Oslo, Norway, on 6 September.