Home | What's New | Research | Visitors | People
Seminars | Workshops | Education  & Outreach


Cosmology with
Sunyaev-Zeldovich Cluster Surveys

September 17–20, 2003

University of California, Berkeley
University of California, Davis
University of Chicago
University of Michigan
ON THIS PAGE: Workshop Description
The Venue
The Organizing Committee
List of Speakers

More SZ Workshop Pages: Program
Online Talks    


Galaxy clusters promise to be excellent laboratories for precision cosmology. Calculations based on idealized models show that they can be used to probe the properties of the mysterious dark energy. MS104-0321This workshop focused on the question of how real galaxy clusters, with all their non-idealities, can be used for precision cosmology. Discussion topics included what we already know about galaxy clusters, what we need to learn, and how to learn it. Of primary concern was how to utilize the Sunyaev-Zeldovich data expected from experiments such as the SZA, APEX, ACT, SPT, and the Planck Surveyor. Complementary observations (X-ray, optical and weak lensing) and computer simulations were vitally important to this endeavor and were discussed as well. The specific topics discussed included:

  • Current status of SZ observations
  • Current and upcoming SZ experiments
  • Systematics
  • Multiwavelength studies of clusters
  • Cosmological Constraints from future cluster surveys
  • Physics of the intracluster medium
  • Scaling relations
  • Theoretical models of clusters


The workshop took place in the Kirsten Physics Teaching Center on the University of Chicago campus in the Hyde Park neighborhood of Chicago and lasted four days, from Wednesday, September 17 at 9 AM until Saturday, September 20 at 12:30 PM. Talks were in KPTC 120, an amphitheater with about 90 seats. Breaks, lunches, and posters were in the physics lounge.

Perseus X-ray
John Carlstrom
August Evrard
Lloyd Knox
Andrey Kravtsov
Clem Pryke
Martin White

Steve Allen
Alexandre Amblard
Jim Annis
Diaferio Antonaldo
Monique Arnaud
J. Richard Bond
John Carlstrom
Asantha Cooray
Sarah Church
Kyle Dawson
Antonaldo Diaferio
Jose Diego
Harald Ebeling
August Evrard
Joseph Fowler
Michael Gladders
Jason Glenn
Zoltan Haiman
Nils Halverson
Joseph Hennawi
Gil Holder
Wayne Hu
Manoj Kaplinghat
Lloyd Knox
Ruediger Kneissl
Andrey Kravtsov
Adrian Lee
Simona Mei
Joseph Mohr
Patrick Motl
Daisuke Nagai
Ue-Li Pen
Elena Pierpaoli
Clem Pryke
Erik Reese
Marcus Runyan
Uros Seljak
Robert Schmidt
Rashid Sunyaev
Chris Vale
Alexey Vikhlinin
Mark Voit
Risa Wechsler
Martin White
Howard Yee

Image credits:     Martin White
Volker Springel
Lars Hernquist
    Daisuke Nagai
Andrey Kravtsov
Joseph Mohr
More SZ Workshop Pages:   Program   •   Online Talks